If you jumped into Bungie’s Destiny beta a couple of weeks ago, you no doubt got a good feel of how the finished product might be. Most of us worked really hard to get to the beta level cap of eight, and carefully selected the weapons that we wanted to us – and it turns out it was all for nothing.
Developer Bungie confirmed that the characters that were created during the beta will be deleted, and that no data will be transferred to the full version of the title.
“We’ve been asked many times if this was a real Beta. It was. We learned a lot from your participation, and we’re going to tweak, adjust, and in some cases, make some significant alterations that ultimately mean your Beta Guardian can’t go home again,” Bungie said in a blog post.
Bungie added that a lot of tweaks have been made since the beta came to an end, and added that even more tweaks are on their way.
“Since the Beta, we’ve continued to tune and adjust the game. The way you earn experience has been adjusted up and down a bunch of times. Items have been added and removed. New features toggled. Although there’s no single monumental change, the sum of the tweaks leaves characters from the Beta Build in strange shape that would be confusing at best, broken at worst,” Bungie designer Tyson Green explained.
But don’t feel too bad that you lost your trusty hero – all the heroes in the final build of the game has been deleted – even the ones that were created by Bungie developers themselves.
“This week, for perhaps the final time, we “wiped” all the brave heroes that lived in the full build of Destiny. The usual funeral pyre of final screenshots was gathered and set alight.”[Source, Image – Bungie]