Telkom adds 25 more suburbs to FTTH roster

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Telkom has announced that it will its expanding its open access fibre broadband network, by adding a further 25 areas by the end of September.

During last week’s annual SATNAC conference, Telkom CEO Sipho Maseko said that the company is eyeing the introduction of FTTH to a million residents by the 2018. Today’s announcement of the additional suburbs form part of that plan.

“South Africans deserve the best broadband infrastructure and we’re committed to giving them a superior experience. Research conducted around the world has consistently shown a direct correlation between increased access to broadband and economic growth,” said Alphonzo Samuels, MD of Wholesale and Networks for Telkom.

If you don’t see your suburb below, head on over to Telkom’s FTTH coverage map to see if your area has been covered in a previous rollout.

The new areas that will now be part of Telkom’s FFTTH rollout are:


  • Hillcrest


  • Rayton Ridge
  • Universitas Ridge


  • Assagay
  • Ballito Industrial Park
  • Bothas Hill
  • Hillcrest, including Hildene, Langeford Estate and St Helier
  • Westmead
  • Mount Edgecombe Country Estate 2


  • Atholl
  • Bryanston
  • Dunkeld
  • Forest Town
  • Houghton
  • River Club
  • Craighall
  • Hyde Park


  • Hazelwood
  • Menlo Park
  • Route 21 Corporate Park (Irene)
  • Waterkloof

Port Elizabeth

  • Hallack Road

Cape Town

  • Atlantic Beach Golf Estate
  • D’urbanvale
  • Oude Westhof (Welgemoed)
  • Van Riebeeckshof (Welgemoed)


Hypertext creates relevant business and consumer technology content for our readers. We live at the crossroads of invention, culture, mobile, 3D printing and more, where the greatest ideas of today inspire the innovations of tomorrow.