Gov’t launches free WiFi in first of eight SA Connect district municipalities

The Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality in the North West will be the first of eight districts earmarked by government to receive free WiFi as part of the South Africa Connect programme.

President Jacob Zuma announced the plan in his 2015 State of the Nation Address, which was schedule to take off last year but delayed due to a number of reasons.

R10 million was budgeted to connect the district municipality, which has a combined population of 695 934, according to Statistics South Africa.

The Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services and its minister, Siyabonga Cwele, will preside over the launch today which will see free WiFi being switched on in the following public facilities located mostly in underserved areas such as townships and settlements:

  • 225 schools
  • Taxi ranks
  • Spaza shops (also known as tuck shops)
  • Internet Cc
  • Government department offices
  • Community health clinics
  • Traffic offices
  • Libraries
  • Disaster management centres
  • Police stations
  •  Post offices

Gert Sibande in Mpumalanga, O.R. Tambo in the Eastern Cape, Pixley ka Seme in the Northern Cape, Thabo Mofutsanyane in the Free State, Umgungundlovu and Umzinyathi in KwaZulu-Natal and Vhembe in Limpopo are the seven other district municipalities which will also receive free WiFi in due course.

[Image – CC South African Tourism]

Join the conversation