The handset that Blackberry is touting as its most secure yet, the PRIV, is set to get even more secure as its Android operating system gets updated to version 6.0, commonly known as Marshmallow.

The update brings with it a number of features that make your handset a lot more secure, but in the case of the PRIV, well, it’s already pretty secure to start with.

For example, Marshmallow scans your handset when it boots up to ensure it hasn’t been tampered with, a feature the PRIV has had right out of the gate using Blackberry Integrity Detection. So why the update then? Additional security of course.

Android Marshmallow adds the option for users to be able to set app permissions a lot easier than it did previously. This means that apps will request permission to use your camera, or contacts for example, as and when they need them. Switching these permissions on and off is also now easier.

Blackberry has once again used the DTEK app to further increase this layer of security to ensure apps aren’t requesting permissions they don’t really need, such as Google Maps needing access to your contacts for example.

Using the standard “Mail” app will also add an additional layer of security to a users emails as the update will now support Secure/Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions or S/MIME. This allows users to encrypt their mails and digitally sign them as well.

Other features users will notice after the update are the option to record video in UHD (3 840 x 2 160), Full HD (1 920 x 1 080) and HD (1 280 x 720) resolutions at up to 24 frames per second (fps). Users can now also record video at 120fps and slow it down to 30fps to create slow motion video.

To check whether the update has been rolled out to you, head to Settings, then scroll to the About Phone or About Device menu. Tap the option labelled Update or Software Update and the system will begin scanning for available updates.

We highly recommend using a stable WiFi connection to do this, as an Android update can be quite a hefty download and you absolutely don’t want to get disconnected, have the download stop and have to start it all again.

[Source – Blackberry]