The SABC has only one non-executive board member left, after two more members tendered their resignations at the weekend, according to the public broadcaster.

Nomvuyo Mhlakaza and Aaron Tshidzumba’s resignations leave Professor Mbulaheni Maguvhe as the last non-executive man standing, after a series of resignations which began during a meeting in Parliament between the board and the Portfolio Committee on Communications, to discuss a number of issues at the SABC.

Krish Naidoo and Vusi Mavuso publicly announced their resignations during the meeting. The rest of the board members were invited to resign after it was decided that the board had to be dissolved after an inquiry into its fitness is held.

Late last month, Leah Thabisile Khumalo also tendered her resignation.

Maguvhe defiantly stated shortly after the meeting that he would not be pushed into resigning and that he wasn’t going anywhere.

This now leaves the SABC board with only four members: Maguvhe as the only non-executive member, while SABC CEO, James Aguma, CFO, Audrey Raphela and acting COO, Bessie Tungwana, remain as executive board members.

The ad hoc committee for the parliamentary inquiry is currently holding its first meeting today to choose a chairperson and discuss the process involved in the inquiry.

Zuma accepts resignations

President Jacob Zuma has, in a statement, said he has received and accepted the resignations of Mhlakaza and Tshidzumba.

Zuma has also thanked the pair for their contribution during their tenure at the SABC and wished them well in all their future endeavours.