In the wee hours of this morning the presidency announced a reshuffling of the National Executive.

This morning South African’s were greeted by the news that several ministers had either been sacked or had their portfolio’s changed.

The most notable sacking is that of the now former Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan. Earlier this week when Gordhan was ordered to return to South Africa sparking fears that the president would alleviate him of his responsibilities as the minister of finance.

One could say South African’s were expecting to see Gordhan dismissed but the news that nine other ministers have been either shuffled or let go comes as something of a shock.

Other notable movements include Fikile Mbalula being ousted as minister of sport and recreation before being named the new minister of police.

In terms of technology, Faith Muthambi is out. The former minister of communications is now the minister of public service and administration.

The new minister of communications is…

Replacing Muthambi is Ayanda Dlodlo. Dlodlo has served as deputy minister for public service and administration since May 2014.

The new minister also served as President Jacob Zuma’s adviser from 2009 to 2010.

Dlodlo left South Africa to join Umkhonto weSizwe in Angola in 1980 at the age of 18. She then went to Moscow where she received training in military intelligence from 1984 to 1985.

Before returning to South Africa in 1994 the minister studied Marine and Shipping Management in the UK.

The minister has worked for Telko, Portnet and Sanlam as well.

And replacing Joematt-Pettersson is…

The department of energy is also being shaken up with Tina Joemat-Pettersson being removed from the cabinet entirely.

Replacing her is Mmamoloko Kubayi. The new minister of energy has served on the ANC Youth League as well as being a member of the Provincial Executive Council in Gauteng.

Kubayi has both a bachelors degree from Vista University and a Project Management Diploma from Damelin.

The full list of new ministers and deputy ministers follows below.

  • Minister of Energy, Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi
  • Minister of Transport, Joe Maswanganyi
  • Minister of Finance, Malusi Gigaba
  • Minister of Police, Fikile Mbalula
  • Minister of Public Works, Nathi Nhleko,
  • Minister of Sports and Recreation, Thembelani Nxesi
  • Minister of Tourism, Tokozile Xasa
  • Minister of Public Service and Administration, Faith Muthambi
  • Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize
  • Minister of Communications, Ayanda Dlodlo

And the deputy ministers:

  • Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • Deputy Minister of Finance, Sifiso Buthelezi
  • Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Ben Martins
  • Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Maggie Sotyu
  • Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Gratitude Magwanishe
  • Deputy Minister of Communications, Thandi Mahambehlala,
  • Deputy Minister of Tourism, Elizabeth Thabethe
  • Deputy Minister of Police, Bongani Mkongi
  • Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
  • Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Nomathemba November.

“I wish to extend my gratitude to the outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to the country. I also wish the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers the best in their new responsibilities,” President Jacob Zuma said.

[Image – CC by 2.0/World Economic Forum]