Eskom has announced suspension and commencement of bulk power supply interruptions in the North West, Free State and Limpopo provinces.

Six municipalities in the North West which owed Eskom for electricity supply, will be able to keep their lights off after arrangements were made with the power utility.

The municipalities are:

  • Distobotla
  • Lekwa Teemane
  • Mamusa
  • Naledi
  • Tswaing
  • KgetlengRiver

The power cuts were meant to begin in September and October.

“Our engagements and negotiations with these municipalities have yielded mutually acceptable agreements, thus averting the scheduled interruptions. We hope that the municipalities will honour their commitments in order to ensure continuous supply of electricity. However, should they renege, we reserve the right to restart the interruptions without further notice,” said Ayanda Noah, Eskom Group Executive of Customer Services.

On the other hand, some municipalities in the Free State face dark days as Eskom has announced the scheduling of power cuts.

The table below details which municipalities are involved:

Eskom said it remains mindful of the impact such supply interruptions will have on electricity consumers, thus the interruption of supply to municipalities for non-payment is always implemented as a last resort.