Zuma still “considering” new SABC board weeks after shortlisting

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Almost a month after Parliament elected 12 people to form the new permanent SABC board, President Jacob Zuma is yet to officially sign the board in.

According to his office, Zuma is still considering the recommendation received from the National Assembly of the names of persons recommended for appointment to the board.

Yesterday was the interim board’s last day in office.

The 12 members of the permanent board, including the five from the interim board, are:

  • Krish Naidoo
  • Febe Potgieter-Gqubule
  • Khanyisile Kweyama
  • Mathata Tsedu
  • John Matisonn
  • Victor Rambau
  • Jack Phalane
  • Bongmusa Makhathini
  • Kgalema Mohuba
  • Micheal Markovitz
  • Nomvuyiso Batyi
  • Rachel Kalidass

The names were announced on 5th September following a process which saw 363 nominees whittled down to the final 12.

“The President has thanked the outgoing members of the interim board for their service and contribution to the governance of the public broadcaster,” The Presidency said.

The Presidency did not indicate when Zuma might be signing the board in.