Nostalgia app Timehop notifies users of hack


Timehop, the app that reminded you of events you’d rather forget before Facebook took on that responsibility, has been breached.

The firm announced this week that on 4th July it experienced a network intrusion and some user data was taken.

At time of writing that data includes:  names, email addresses, and some phone numbers. Access tokens that allowed Timehop to access social media feeds were also taken but these have since been revoked.

“Timehop has already invalidated all the access tokens it had on file, effectively disconnecting every Timehop account from every service and preventing any more harm being done,” the firm said, adding that users would have reconnect to the service to their social platforms in order for it to keep functioning.

Advert

No memories or social media posts were gleaned in the breach and no user data was accessed by way of tokens.

To speak frankly for a moment this news took us by surprise, because we had forgotten that Timehop was still around which puts the importance of constantly checking services like Facebook to see which apps have access to your data.

“Just because you’ve forgotten about an app doesn’t mean the app’s forgotten about you. An app that you invited years ago to keep an eye on your Facebook posts or your Twitter feed could be doing so still – learn how to go in and check who’s got access to how much of your social media nostalgia,” says senior technologist at Sophos, Paul Ducklin.

If you are a Timehop user now is a good time to go in and check which apps it is allowed to access.

Stay safe folks.

Join the conversation

Advert