Universities across the country are expected to reopen this week, after student protests broke out earlier this month over student accommodation, historic debt and registration.

Universities that have been disrupted over the last weeks are, the University of Witwatersrand (Wits), Durban University of Technology (DUT), Vaal University of Technology (VUT), University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN), and last week the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT).

According to IOL, Minister of Higher Education and Training, Naledi Pandor, said qualifying National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) students should not be excluded from registering at universities because of historic debt.

The Student Representative Council (SRC) at Wits came to an agreement with management, and brought an end to the week-long strikes and protests. The agreement was between the SRC and management to open the Wits Hardship Fund for students who meet the criteria.

DUT classes are also expected to resume, after a student was shot and killed during a protest outside the Durban campus earlier this month.

[Source – IOL] [Image – CC 0 Pixabay]