During his State of the Nation Address (Sona), which happened early last month, President Cyril Ramaphosa said he is committed to reduce his cabinet should the ANC win the 2019 national  elections.

According to the Sowetan, the President’s plan would be to reduce the cabinet to 25 ministers, returning the cabinet to an almost similar size that it was under former president Thabo Mbeki, who had 29 ministers and 20 deputy ministers.

Currently the cabinet sits at 35 ministers and 37 deputy ministers, all of whom were appointed by former president, Jacob Zuma.

Sowetan added that the President will only appoint deputy ministers where the workload requires it.

“We are looking at merging some of the ministers while we appoint several accounting officers who will be in charge of implementation,” said an unnamed senior ANC leader.

The Department of Public Services spokesperson, Mava Scott, commented  that the work on the reconfiguration of government has been ongoing and a great deal of thinking has been around how to make government more efficient, looking at capacity and skills.

“We cannot confirm which ministers will be phased out or not. Minister for Public Service, Ayanda Dlodlo will submit the analytical report on reconfiguration of government within the current term,” concluded Scott.

[Source – Sowetan] [Image – Parliament]