In a bid to give users greater control over their data and privacy, Google is set to introduce a new “feature” to its service.

We use the term “feature” rather loosely though as really, it should have been there from the word go if we’re honest.

What are we on about? Well as you might be aware Google collects web and location history from users (with their consent of course) so as to improve recommendations the firm makes through advertising and other mediums.

You can of course turn this data collection off but this has a negative impact on the quality of the service you receive from Google. Users can also log into their Google account and manually delete this data.

Google has however announced that it will soon give users a way to automatically delete their web and location history by setting time limits on how long Google should keep activity data.

“Choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved—3 or 18 months—and any data older than that will be automatically deleted from your account on an ongoing basis,” Google said in a blog post.

The feature will “roll out in the coming weeks” and we’re rather pleased to see.

While we do enjoy our privacy, we also enjoy the benefits of sharing location information for things such as maps. This new addition to privacy control is a great compromise then.

Brendyn Lotz writes news, reviews, and opinion pieces for Hypertext. His interests include SMEs, innovation on the African continent, cybersecurity, blockchain, games, geek culture and YouTube.