Earlier this week following the National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting in Cape Town, two women have been appointed to lead the ruling party, the African National Congress (ANC) caucus, in parliament for the first time.

According to EWN, the two newly appointed officials will be chief whip Pemmy Majodina, a former Eastern Cape MEC, and Doris Dlakude. Along with the recent additions, the ANC is also replacing the current National Assembly speaker Baleka Mbete with Thandi Modise.

“We unanimously adopted this list as the NEC with no issues and Thandi Modise will be the Speaker of the National Assembly,” said the ANC secretary-general, Ace Magashule.

Furthermore, EWN noted that another women who will hold a key position in Parliament is Nomvula Mokonyane, who will be the chair of chairs, which puts her in charge of all committee chairpersons.

ANC adds that Modise will be deputised by Lechesa Tsenoli, who will remain the deputy speaker of the National Assembly, while Amos Masondo will be the new chairperson of the National Council of Provinces (NCOP).

[Source – EWN] [Image – Parliament]