This week while delivering his budget vote speech Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, announced that seven countries have been added to the list of countries that do not require a visa for travel to South Africa.

IOL News reports that South African Tourism has welcomed the Home Affairs announcement, with this bringing the total to 75 countries that do not require a visa to enter South Africa.

“As we look to achieve our 5-in-5 goals which is to increase international tourist arrivals by 4 million and domestic holiday trips by 1 million, the visa waivers will go a long way to assisting the increase of tourist arrivals into South Africa,” said SA Tourism acting CEO, Sthembiso Dlamini.

The new visa free countries are: Cuba, Ghana, New Zealand, Qatar, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

“The visa waivers to countries in all of our key markets will ensure that we stimulate growth in the industry that is in line with the mandate issued to us by President Cyril Ramaphosa,” added Dlamini.

IOL News adds that the Department of Home Affairs has committed to employing additional staff to key markets where there is high demand for visas to decrease the turnaround time.

[Image – CC 0 Pixabay | Source – IOL News]