Back in August the Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA) opened up nominations for this year’s President’s Awards, and now with the nomination period ending, a shortlist has been finalised.

“Our judges had a difficult task in singling out finalists from yet another field of sterling ICT leaders, innovators and change makers. As the industry’s professional body, IITPSA is proud to see that South Africa’s ICT professionals remain world class and abreast of global innovation,” says IITPSA CEO, Tony Parry, about this year’s nominees.

There are four main categories for this year’s President’s Awards – IT Personality of the year, Visionary CIO of the year, Social Responsibility/Community and Technology Excellence.

The nominees for each category is as follows:

Visionary CIO Award

  • Helen Constantinides, CIO – Avbob Mutual Assurance Society
  • Avsharn Bachoo, CTO – PPS
  • Derek Wilcocks, Group CIO – Discovery Limited
  • Louise van der Bank, CIO – Afrisam
  • Sandra La Bella, Group CIO – Alexander Forbes

IT Personality Award

  • Peter Searle, CEO – Barone, Budge & Dominick (Pty) Ltd
  • Jaco van der Merwe, CEO – DVT
  • Lillian Barnard, MD – Microsoft SA
  • Tiyani Nghonyama, COO – Geekulcha
  • Prof Jean Greyling, Associate Professor, Department of Computing Sciences – Nelson Mandela University
  • Tebogo Makgatho, CEO – Netcampus

Social Responsibility/Community Award

  • Takalani (Taki) Netshitenzhe, Chief Officer Corporate Affairs and Chairperson Vodacom Foundation – Vodacom Group
  • Frans Kalp, CEO – Ligbron E-Learning Systems
  • Rumbidzaishe Maisva, Head of STEM – Womandla Foundation
  • Neo Hutiri, Founder – Technovera (Pelebox Smart Locker System)
  • Prof Jean Greyling, Associate Professor, Department of Computing Sciences – Nelson Mandela University

Technology Excellence Award

  • Technovera (Pelebox Smart Locker System) -Neo Hutiri, Founder
  • Aerobotics – Benji Meltzer, CTO & Co-Founder
  • Mint II – Peter Reid, Head of Mint II
  • Ligbron E-Learning Systems – Frans Kalp, CEO
  • Pineapple – Marnus van Heerden, Co-Founder

If you’re interested to join all the shortlisted finalists, seats and tables are still available for the IITPSA 2019 President’s Awards breakfast, happening on 27th November.